Aademic Staff
Derek Du Preez
Dr Derek Du Preez
Position: Director of School of Environmental Sciences
Department: Botany
Room: 12 01 07
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2721
Fax: 27 41 583 2317
Email: Derek.DuPreez@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Bsc, BSc Hons, MSc, PhD
Expertise: Geographical Information Systems, Microalgal ecophysiology, Plant stress physiology, Seaweed mariculture (cultivation of seaweeds), Soil nitrogen and soil nutrient availability
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/DerekDuPreez/

Prof Eileen Campbell
Prof Eileen Campbell
Position: Associate Professor - Extended Program Coordinator
Department: Botany
Room: 12 -1 08
Location: South Campus
Phone: +27 041 5042329
Fax: 041-5832317
Email: Eileen.Campbell@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Coastal zone management, Phycology (study of algae), Sandy beach ecology, Vegetation ecology
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/EileenCampbell/

Prof Richard Cowling
Prof Richard Cowling
Position: Research Professor
Department: Botany
Location: South Campus
Email: rmc@kingsley.co.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Ecology, evolution and conservation of the Fynbos, Succulent Karoo and Subtropical Thicket Biomes
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/RichardCowling/

Prof Janine Adams
Prof Janine Adams
Position: Full Professor - Director of the Institute for Coastal and Marine Research
Department: Botany
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2429
Fax: 27 41 583 2317
Email: Janine.Adams@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Environmental flow requirements, Estuarine botanist, Estuary ecology
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/JanineAdams/

Dr Phumelele Gama
Dr Phumelele Gama
Position: HOD of the Botany Department
Department: Botany
Room: BLD-12 0103
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2779
Fax: 27 41 583 2317
Email: Phumelele.Gama@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Aquatic plant ecology, Phytoplankton ecology
My site: http://www.nmmu.ac.za/PhumeleleGama/

Mr Paul-Pierre Steyn
Mr Paul-Pierre Steyn
Position: Contract Lecturer
Phone: 27 41 5042084
Fax: 27 41 5832317
Email: Paul-Pierre.Steyn@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc
Expertise: Seaweed mariculture, macroalgae

Ms Penny Lithauer
Ms Penny Lithauer
Position: Lecturer
Department: Botany
Location: South Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 2575
Fax: +27 41 504 2583
Email: penny.lithauer@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc
Expertise: Crop physiology

Alastair Potts
Dr Alastair Potts
Position: Senior Lecturer and Researcher
Department: Botany
Room: 12.0114
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504-2396
Email: Alastair.Potts@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Molecular Ecology; Community Ecology; Phylogeography; Distribution Modelling
Responsibilities: Research; BOT340
My site: http://www.pottsresearch.org.za/

Cgarner
Dr. Cornelia Garner
Position: contract lecturer for BBO
Department: Botany
Room: 12 01 18
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041-504 2398
Email: Cornelia.Garner@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Ph.D.
Expertise: Rocky shore ecology
Responsibilities: lecturing Biology to B.Ed FET

Technical Staff
Andrew (Andy) Charles
Andrew Smith
Position:  Senior Laboratory Technician
Department: Botany
Location: South Campus
Email: Andrew.Smith@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc

Cynthia Tobias
Ms Cynthia Tobias
Position: Laboratory Technician
Department: Botany
Room: 0104
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041-5042648
Fax: -
Email: cynthia.tobias@nmmmu.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc
Expertise: -
Responsibilities: -
My site: -

tpakana
Ms Thembakazi Pakana
Position: Departmental Secretary
Department: Botany
Room: 0107
Location: South Campus
Phone: 0415042397
Fax: 0415832317
Email: Thembakazi.Pakana@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Secretarial Diploma
Responsibilities: Administration