Academic Staff
Paul-Pierre Steyn
Dr Paul-Pierre Steyn
Position: Head of Department and Senior Lecturer
Department: Botany
Room: 0107, 1st floor, Biology Building 12 (Mveso)
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 4873
Email: paul.steyn@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Seaweed mariculture, Macroalgae ecology, Environmental Management
Responsibilities: Lecturing and student supervision, research, and specialist consulting.
My site: https://sites.google.com/view/psteynresearch/home

Prof Janine Adams
Prof Janine Adams
Position: Deputy Director of the Institute for Coastal and Marine Research
Department: Botany
Room: 0004, Ground floor, Biology Building 12 (Mveso)
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2429
Email: Janine.Adams@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Environmental flow requirements, Estuarine botanist, Estuary ecology

Prof Eileen Campbell
Prof Eileen Campbell
Position: Acting Director for School of Environmental Sciences
Department: Botany
Room: 0039, Ground Floor, Biology Building 12 (Mveso)
Location: South Campus
Email: Eileen.Campbell@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Coastal zone management, Phycology (study of algae), Sandy beach ecology, Vegetation ecology

Derek Du Preez
Dr Derek Du Preez
Position: Retired, Research Associate
Department: Botany
Room: 0039, Ground Floor, Biology Building 12 (Mveso)
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2721
Email: Derek.DuPreez@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc, BSc Hons, MSc, PhD
Expertise: Geographical Information Systems, Microalgal ecophysiology, Plant stress physiology, Seaweed mariculture (cultivation of seaweeds), Soil nitrogen and soil nutrient availability
Responsibilities: Landscape Ecology and GIS

Dr Phumelele Gama
Dr Phumelele Gama
Position: Snr Lecturer Botany Department
Department: Botany
Room: 0105, First Floor, Biology Building 12 (Mveso)
Location: South Campus
Phone: 27 41 504 2779
Email: Phumelele.Gama@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Aquatic plant ecology, Phytoplankton ecology
Responsibilities: Faculty Employment Equity Representative

Ms Penny Lithauer
Ms Penny Lithauer
Position: Faculty Academic Advisor and Lecturer
Department: Botany
Room: 0021, Ground Floor, Biology Building 12 (Mveso)
Location: South Campus
Phone: +27 41 504 2575
Email: penny.lithauer@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: BSc Hons, HDE, MAgric
Expertise: Science education and Academic Advisement

Alastair Potts
Dr Alastair Potts
Position: Senior Lecturer and Researcher
Department: Botany
Room: 0103, First Floor, Biology Building 12 (Mveso)
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504-2398
Email: Alastair.Potts@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Molecular Ecology; Community Ecology; Phylogeography; Distribution Modelling
Responsibilities: Research; BOT340
My site: http://www.pottsresearch.org.za/

Molemir
Dr Molemi Rauwane
Position: Senior Lecturer
Department: Botany
Room: 0104 First Floor, Biology Building 12 (Mveso)
Location: South Campus
Phone: 0415044554
Email: molemi.rauwane@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: PhD
Expertise: Plant Biotechnology
Responsibilities: Teaching and Research

Secretary
Jocelyn-Ann Hadwen
Mrs Jocelyn Hadwen
Position: Departmental Secretary : Botany Department
Department: Botany
Room: 0107 First Floor, Building 12 (Mveso)
Location: South Campus
Phone: 0415042397
Email: Jocelyn.Hadwen@mandela.ac.za

Technical Staff
Zanele Noqobo
Ms Zanele Noqobo
Position: Senior Laboratory Technician
Department: Botany
Room: 0118, 1st Floor,Building 12 (Mveso)
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 2196
Email: zanele.noqobo@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc Wine Biotechnology, BSc Honours Botany and BSc Biological Sciences

Odwa Ntsikwe
Mr Odwa Ntsikwe
Position: Laboratory Technician
Department: Botany
Room: Inkanyezi Building, Room 0103
Location: South Campus
Phone: 0415042396
Email: Odwa.Ntsikwe@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: Bachelor of Science Honours in Botany

Maanda Raselabe
Mr Maanda Raselabe
Position: Laboratory Technician
Department: Botany
Room: Room 0040, Ground floor, Building 12 (Mveso)
Location: South Campus
Phone: 041 504 4605
Email: maanda.raselabe@mandela.ac.za
Qualifications: MSc Botany; BSc Honours in Ecology; BSc Microbiology; BSc Botany